Eight Notable Quotes from 2015

Here are eight quotes from posts that appeared on this blog last year. I hope they provide a useful perspective as you set goals for 2016.

Best wishes for a happy, healthy New Year —

Lynne

*********************

1) “I’m no longer afraid to put myself out there as the worst thing that can happen is I get told ‘no.’ I’ve learned not to take that as a personal rejection, which I would have in my younger years. Now, ‘no’ just means to try again.” — Samantha Judd, founder, Flip Lid Lunchbox

2) “The thing I’ve learned most about being an entrepreneur is to not be afraid to fail…I make 10 mistakes practically before I get out of bed every morning, and I’ve learned much more from my failings than I have from my successes in my life.” – LeVar Burton, co-founder of RRKidz and one-time host of PBS’ “Reading Rainbow” television program

3) “When you wake up and dread going to work, thinking, ‘I can’t do this for another second,’ it’s time to change.” – Andrew Brill, sportscaster (Brill interned for WABC-TV New York when he was in his 40s)

4) “You’ve always seen me as a successful businessman and now you’ve seen me on my butt. Now you’re going to see how I get back up.” – George Zimmer, founder, zTailors Generation Tux and Men’s Warehouse (Zimmer left the men’s clothing retailer in 2013)

5) “Your forties are the moment when you start to become aware. It’s just the beginning. I’ve always believed that to confirm your way of thinking takes time. It takes experimenting. You have to confront different chapters of your life.” — Giorgio Armani, fashion designer and founder of the Armani business empire

6) “I was an overnight success alright, but 30 years is a long, long night.” – Ray Kroc, creator of the McDonald’s hamburger chain

7) “Being in a creative industry, it’s quite natural that one comes up with harebrained ideas. And I have come up with a few in my time. I started looking at this amazing world of ours with a different lens.” – Megan Sanders, Pineapple Heads children’s hair care products

8) “Average people place blame. Successful people take responsibility.” – Craig Valentine, 1999 Toastmasters International Public Speaking Champion

About Lynne Strang

I'm a writer who blogs about 40-and-older business owners. I am also the author of "Late-Blooming Entrepreneurs: Eight Principles for Starting a Business After Age 40." Outside of work, I enjoy reading, cooking, vegetable gardening and exercise (especially cycling).
This entry was posted in Business, Career Changes, Careers, entrepreneurs, Entrepreneurship, Leadership, Retirement, Success and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Eight Notable Quotes from 2015

  1. debra hall says:

    Hi Lynne, thank you so for pulling together these inspiring quotes in your post. From Debra

  2. Nomzi Kumalo says:

    Thank you dear Lynne. Happy new year. 🌹

What do you think?

