“You Are Never Too Old”

That’s what 64-year-old Diana Nyad proclaimed after she became the first person to swim from Cuba to Florida without a protective cage to keep sharks at bay. As reported by CNN, Nyad finished just before 2 p.m. ET on September 2, almost 53 hours after she started in Havana.

It was Nyad’s fifth attempt at the 110-mile swim and her fourth since turning 60. This time, she wore a special mask to protect her tongue against jellyfish stings, a key reason for last year’s failed attempt.

Nyad was 29 when she first attempted the Cuba-to-Florida swim. Last week, she said her objective was to show that “you can dream at any age.”

The fifth time turned out to be the charm. Afterwards, the exhausted but happy Nyad told reporters she had three messages.

“One is we should never, ever give up. Two is you never are too old to chase your dreams. Three is it looks like a solitary sport, but it’s a team,” she said.

In the CNN article, Nyad said she thinks a lot of people in the U.S. “have gotten depressed, pinned in, pinned down with living lives they don’t want.”  She hopes she can serve as some sort of inspiration.

Boy, has she ever.

About Lynne Strang

I'm a writer who blogs about 40-and-older business owners. I am also the author of "Late-Blooming Entrepreneurs: Eight Principles for Starting a Business After Age 40." Outside of work, I enjoy reading, cooking, vegetable gardening and exercise (especially cycling).
This entry was posted in Leadership, Retirement, Success and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to “You Are Never Too Old”

  1. Kathi says:

    I Fully Believe this is true. I am 66 and going strong, learning how to be the best I can be!! :<))

  2. Eileen O'Connor says:

    “One is we should never, ever give up. Two is you never are too old to chase your dreams.” This is so true … thanks for the inspiration! 🙂

  3. This is what I needed today. Started another biz at 55 and sometimes wonder if I’m crazy! Can’t ever let age stand in the way.

  4. JR Fent says:

    I see too many entrepreneurs ducking for the cover of a job/paycheck as they reach our age (I’m just over 50). Life’s getting shorter – better to be creative and take some risks. Even if you just do it part-time. – JR

  5. Mike Wilson says:

    Outstanding! An encouragement at any age. I remember when I was in my 20’s and early 30’s, I was told that I was too young. Later, people tell you that you are too old. In between, we are just trying to keep our noses above water. If you have a dream, you should pursue it–wherever you are in life. If you fail and still believe in your dream, you should try again . . . and again if necessary.

  6. I find this encouraging for a late bloomer like me, who would like to prove that age is not a hindrance to accomplishing worthwhile projects,that is presently the domain of the young.

  7. lcrawfordlaw says:

    I saw this on the news. Awesome! I think that as soon as we stop challenging ourselves, we start doubting ourselves, and there’s no reason to live in fear at any age. I just finished law school but instead of going the standard route and trying to land a job at a firm, I decided to pursue my own passion and open a gym. It’s people like Ms. Nyad give me inspiration and remind me that I’m not totally crazy.

    • lbstrang says:

      Good for you for pursuing your passion! You might want to read “How One Woman’s Grit Led to a Gym-Dandy Business,” my June 26 blog post about gym owner Kelly Michalek. Kelly’s story may provide useful information and spur some ideas.

  8. Inspire One. says:

    Never too old to be inspired.

What do you think?

