World’s Oldest Marathon Runner Knows About Perseverance

Late bloomers aren’t found just in the business world, of course. For 40-and-older aspiring entrepreneurs, the accomplishments of older artists, authors, scientists and athletes can provide inspiration and a reminder of what’s possible (for great stories about non-business achievers, check out Debra Eve’s blog, Late Bloomer).

One example is 101-year-old Fauja Singh, who started running marathons at age 89. In late January, after nearly 13 years, Singh announced that the Hong Kong Marathon on Feb. 24 will be his final race.

As reported by this ABC News story, Singh earned the nickname the “Turban Tornado” for his distinctive yellow turban and (relatively) fast speed. He set race records for his age group when he was in his nineties and in 2004 carried the torch for the Athens Olympics. In 2011, the Guinness Book of World Records listed him as the oldest marathon runner when he competed in the Toronto Marathon at age 100.

Once he stops competing, Singh plans to follow a lighter running schedule of “just” eight to nine miles per day.

“I will keep running to inspire the masses,” he told the Times of India. “Running is my life and I really would not have stopped competing if I had not crossed the age of 100.”

About Lynne Strang

I'm a writer who blogs about 40-and-older business owners. I am also the author of "Late-Blooming Entrepreneurs: Eight Principles for Starting a Business After Age 40." Outside of work, I enjoy reading, cooking, vegetable gardening and exercise (especially cycling).
This entry was posted in Business, Careers, entrepreneurs, Entrepreneurship, Leadership, Retirement, Success and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to World’s Oldest Marathon Runner Knows About Perseverance

  1. iterlibertas says:

    well that is an amazing perspective in life

  2. amidalife says:

    Inspiring!

    • lbstrang says:

      Indeed! For me, one of this story’s messages is the importance of physical fitness to accomplish long-term goals. While you don’t necessarily have to run marathons, there’s usually a way to fit regular exercise into your lifestyle.

  3. Amazing story!
    I’m chuckling right now because just this week I asked my ESL students, “How are the elderly in the US different from the elderly in your culture?” First answer, “They’re always dressed for the gym.” What an example of someone not just dressed for it, but truly running the race.

  4. Thank you for posting this, I really enjoyed it!

  5. Debra Eve says:

    Hi Lynne, I thought I commented earlier but obviously I’m losing my late-blooming memory 🙂 Thanks so much for the shout out. I always refer people to your site who are interested in an entrepreneurial second act!

What do you think?

