Celebrating a Blogiversary

One year ago today, I started this blog.  December 26 wasn’t an ideal launching date, as my household (like so many others) was recovering from the previous day’s holiday gluttony.  But “start a blog” had been on my to-do list for 2010 — which was about to come to an end.  So I decided to shake off my post-Christmas stupor and just “git ‘er done,” as the saying goes.

Seventy six posts later, it’s been quite a journey.  Coming from the communications field, I knew a little about blogs, but I didn’t understand or appreciate them until I began writing one myself.  For the benefit of any other newbies out there, here are a few things I’ve learned about blogging:

•   It helps your writing.  If your posts are short, that doesn’t matter since most people don’t have much time to read these days.  What does matter is consistency.  Writing on a regular basis is the best way to get better at it.

•   It makes you a better proofreader.  Not wanting to embarrass myself with some glaring typo, I find I review my words carefully — a habit that carries over to non-Internet writing.  “Better” isn’t the same as “perfect,” however, so it’s entirely possible that you’ll find a mistake or two somewhere in this post!

•   It instills discipline.  Posting once or twice each week forces you to follow a schedule.

•   It keeps you in the loop.  The loop will vary, depending upon the subject of your blog.  To write mine, I try to stay reasonably informed about what’s going on in business circles.

•   It’s a community activity.  Blogging is about reading and commenting on other people’s posts, not just writing your own. For me, the give-and-take nature of blogging didn’t sink in until I’d been at it for awhile.  Now, I’m finding that meeting other bloggers and/or reading their work is the best part.

You know what else I’ve learned?  With blogging, the more I know, the more I realize I don’t know.  But I guess that’s okay, given that it’s always changing anyway.

It’s been a fun first year.  I look forward to sharing more entrepreneurial success stories and welcome your comments.  Thank you for reading — and all the best for 2012.

Lynne

About Lynne Strang

I'm a writer who blogs about 40-and-older business owners. I am also the author of "Late-Blooming Entrepreneurs: Eight Principles for Starting a Business After Age 40." Outside of work, I enjoy reading, cooking, vegetable gardening and exercise (especially cycling).
This entry was posted in Business. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Celebrating a Blogiversary

  1. Lynne, I have enjoyed reading each post since your fp’d post earlier this year. Congratulations on such an accomplishment early on within months of starting. I love your concept “Late Blooming Entrepreneurs” and continue to recommend it in conversation and on my site. I enjoyed reading this post because a first blogiversary is quite a milestone and I wanted to read what you have learned. I would agree with all your points. Your first point is one I wonder about…how short? how long?

  2. lbstrang says:

    Thank you for your kindness and support — your site is one of my favorites!

    I’d say the answer to the “how short or long” question is: long enough to get your point across. For example, when I’m sharing an item written by someone else, sometimes I just need a few sentences to set the stage. If you find yourself using different words to say the same thing repeatedly, it’s past the time to wrap it up. That’s my take, but I’d be interested in hearing what others think.

  3. Thanks for blogging, Lynne. I always find your posts interesting and topical. Good luck with year two.

  4. lbstrang says:

    Thank you, Bruce. Happy holidays to you and your family.

  5. Mike Wilson says:

    Lynne, I have enjoyed following your blog, and thank you for following mine. My one year will be in Feb, so I am a little behind you. I can agree with all your learnings, and am grateful for the don’t know part because that gives me new things to write about as I come across them. Too much redundancy can be boring–for you and for your readers. Thanks for being my “blog-friend.” If you and your husband and my wife and I are ever in the same neck of the woods, maybe we can go for a RIDE!!!!
    Mike

  6. lbstrang says:

    Mike, I’ve enjoyed reading your blog, too. As a business owner, you provide your readers with valuable, inspirational advice that could only come from someone who’s been through “the school of hard knocks.” I like the bike ride idea — you just never know, especially since we normally go on at least one cycling trip every year.

  7. Lynne, It’s my first time here and I haven’t been at it for a year yet – but have absolutely enjoyed the journey. I agree with the reasons you point out above. Blogging definitely keeps my writing skills sharper, the community is great, and I’ve learned so much along the way. I was going to get the Rosetta Stone for Italian – but decided I need to learn the language of HTML code and WordPress instead. Too bad – definitely not as pretty as Italian. Nice to find you.

    • lbstrang says:

      Thanks for visiting, Barb! I hope you’ll reconsider the idea of learning Italian — or at least keep it on the back burner. As mentioned in an earlier post, I’m a perpetual Spanish student. Learning a second language is a challenge, but it sure gives you a sense of accomplishment when you get to a level where you can use it.

  8. And by the way – Congratulations on your Blogiversary! See? New language pops up all the time out here.

What do you think?

