Opening a Law Practice at Age 72

When Pennsylvania resident Carolyn Newsom decided to go to law school at age 68, she wasn’t the only one there who was making a midlife career change. A half-dozen women with her at the Widener University School of Law were at least 40 years old. They called themselves the Ladies Justice.

“It was great to have a group of women to be supportive of one another,” said Newsom in this article appearing in The Intelligencer. She passed the Pennsylvania and New Jersey bar exams in 2012.

At age 72, she’s started a law practice that focuses on estate planning. It’s her third business venture.  Previously, she had two consulting practices based upon expertise she cultivated during her earlier careers with IBM and an international consulting firm.

“I sort of reinvent myself every seven to ten years,” said Newsom, who also volunteers Wills for Heroes. The nonprofit, born from the September 11th tragedies, caters to first responders. Newsom was on the 44th floor of the North Tower when the first plane hit it.

By all accounts, Newsom has earned some time to relax. But apparently she has no plans to do so.

“My goal is to never retire,” she said. “I can’t imagine what retirement would be like.”

About Lynne Strang

I'm a communications consultant and writer who blogs about 40-and-older business owners. I am also the author of "Late-Blooming Entrepreneurs: Eight Principles for Starting a Business After Age 40." Outside of work, I enjoy reading, cooking, vegetable gardening and exercise (especially cycling).
This entry was posted in Business, Career Changes, Careers, entrepreneurs, Entrepreneurship, Leadership, Retirement, Success and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Opening a Law Practice at Age 72

  1. abundantlife says:

    Great story! It is never too late to pursue one’s dreams!

  2. Angela says:

    What an inspiration to us all ..

  3. mike clayton says:

    Colonel sanders opened his first “Kentucky fried chicken ” when he was 63 !!

  4. enochgail says:

    An awesome inspiration to us all :)

    • Lynne Strang says:

      She certainly is. Some of us want to open a law practice. And some of us want to open a restaurant, start a graphic design business, or something else. Age is just a number that shouldn’t get in the way of pursuing a dream!

  5. jarod7875 says:

    I enjoyed reading this, first because of the age that is being talked about, I always believe that a person is never too old to do what you want to do in life, and Carolyn Newsom’s drive is to be successful.

  6. roumayne says:

    Thank you! Inspired me to go ahead and reinvent myself too!

  7. anguspryor says:

    Hi Lynne

    My parents, admittedly in partnership with my brother and me, have opened a farmstay business in rural Australia even though mum an dad are both in their 80s. They greet and farewell all guests and basically handle any of the day to day matters while the guests are there.

    From the 15 surveys we’ve had completed this year, we’ve been rated 10 out of 10 for customer service in all 15 surveys and that’s down to mum and dad. Definitely my heroes. : )

    Regards

    • Lynne Strang says:

      Older entrepreneurs can be especially good at providing customer service — in part because they tend to be easy going and patient. Sounds like your family business is working out well! Thank you for commenting.

  8. aedwards19 says:

    Wish you nothing but the best! Very inspiring

  9. belltina1 says:

    This is a great post it gives us older folks a little boost. I wonder all the time if I started too late in life and I still don’t know what I want to be when I grow up! I just got my Associates in Business/Marketing and I’m 54. I still have to go back and get my Bachelors, but I don’t know what I want to do yet? I know… I better figure it out right? That is why I like this post, I do not feel like I’m in too much trouble yet!

    • Lynne Strang says:

      I think you have more company than you may realize. A lot of people go through life not knowing what they want to do! The best way to figure it out is to try new things and keep an open mind. Congrats on getting your Associates degree!

  10. belltina1 says:

    Hello,
    This is such a great post.. everybody needs some pick-me-up when they feel things are stacked against them. This just goes to show we all no matter the circumstances have it in us to make our dreams come true! That’s what makes us all unique and special. Thanks all for the comments and posts… got me going strong again… Never Give Up

What do you think?

