Michelle Obama’s Thoughts on Turning 50

Turning 50 isn’t what it used to be. Just ask Michelle Obama.

The First Lady of the U.S. isn’t just celebrating her 50th birthday today. She’s embracing it in a way that sets a great example for others.

“What you learn is that each decade brings a new set of challenges but also a new set of possibilities,” Mrs. Obama said in this interview with Parade magazine. “I have never felt more confident in myself, more clear on who I am as a woman. But I am constantly thinking about my own health and making sure that I’m eating right and getting exercise and watching the aches and pains. I want to be this really fly 80-, 90-year-old.”

The First Lady, who’s involved in such causes as childhood obesity and education, hasn’t indicated any interest in starting a business when she and her family leave the White House. But then again, she says she’s learned to “never to say never.” Who knows?

About Lynne Strang

I'm a communications consultant and writer who blogs about 40-and-older business owners. I am also the author of "Late-Blooming Entrepreneurs: Eight Principles for Starting a Business After Age 40." Outside of work, I enjoy reading, cooking, vegetable gardening and exercise (especially cycling).
This entry was posted in Career Changes, Careers, Retirement, Success and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Michelle Obama’s Thoughts on Turning 50

  1. Megan Anne says:

    I loved turning 50! This has been the best decade of my life so far. But I agree, you have to stay physically fit to really enjoy your 50′s. I walk 3 miles three times a week and do yoga twice a week.

What do you think?

